Ditch the guidebook – trend in travelling

The Guardian has written an article on how to discover a city best – through people living there.

I started to collect all my travel tips and discoveries via my google map account quiet a while ago. There reason for it was to get around carrying all my travel guides and being noisy to discover new places constantly AND being pretty particular in my choices I needed one central place to store them.

See here some maps I made for Paris; sorted by arrondissement for better overview:

Overview of all arrondissements, 3ième, 4ième, etc. and it looks like this on my iPhone.

Since I have found this App I have access to them while abroad – I’m quiet happy with it. And my maps keep growing. Whenever I read something, I would add it. Read my update on this.

No need to buy paper anymore!

Just now I have discovered that SpottedbyLocals have launched their city apps – great! I get one for my next city, probably Prague. Or shall I go to Istanbul?

Another favourite information source of mine is Smart Travelling the publisher of the German weekend guides ‘A perfect weekend in…[name of city]’, they have annouced that they will also issue an iPhone App. I hope to see it soon. And of course not to forget, I like the Hedonist Guides for eating and deli shopping recommendations.

Read also this PDF article ‘Guidebook Alternatives‘ of Sunday Times listing free guides.

About Tash

I like to travel, photograph, cook, bake and have interest in art, design and crafting. View all posts by Tash

Leave a Reply

