Find your passion and how to become really good in something

It seems to be an ongoing trend among my friends and for myself aswell ‘find ones passion and to find ones place in the world and in their lives’. Over several months I have been collecting articles and videos that I found personally motivating.

Let us first start with a quote I keep reminding myself to see clearer what I like to do most and to find out what would suit me even better.

Distractivity is what you’re doing when you get distracted from what you should be doing. It’s generally what you want to do, often what you need to do, and arguably, what you’ll do best.

From Distractivity via Swiss Miss.

On how to achieve something (if you know what you like already)

Ira Glass on finding great stories. Although he talks about radio broadcasting, you can take it a step further, you can apply it aswell on any other creative work! Let’s say you wish to be more creative. It takes a great amount of time of practising and getting into that type of being active with your brain again, until you have a sudden inspiration for a new project!

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• ••• ◊ •••

Ira Glass on good taste. He explains the difference between your taste and what you produce. In the beginning your results and outputs are not so great, but by time and experience you get closer and closer to your taste. He shows that very nicely with his hands.

On how to copy and steal if you do not know yet better

Jeffrey Veen about copying and steeling ideas to become successful too. Like Picasso said ‘Good artist copy, great artist steal’. Why do I put this one here? If you do not know where to start, start with copying what you like! And by time, after errors and endless trials you become better and suddenly you have developed your own style.

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• ••• ◊ •••

Let’s round it up with some thoughts I have read on Hoehn’s Musings by Charlie Hoehns blog. He tells us his way of how he got there where he is and his key message in the article is

And therein lies the best career advice I could possibly dispense: just DO things. Chase after the things that interest you and make you happy. Stop acting like you have a set path, because you don’t. No one does. You shouldn’t be trying to check off the boxes of life; they aren’t real and they were created by other people, not you. There is no explicit path I’m following, and I’m not walking in anyone else’s footsteps. I’m making it up as I go.

I also really like his quote from the ‘The Dark Knight’ where the Joker says:

Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I’m a dog chasing cars. I wouldn’t know what to do with one if I caught it! You know, I just DO things… I’m not a schemer. I try to show the schemers how pathetic their attempts to control things really are

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• ••• ◊ •••

If you have 40min spare, you should watch this clip by Sir Ken Robinson where the talks about his book ‘The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything’. The title says it what I think aswell; if you find your element, your passion, and you can make it your profession you don’t feel like working at all.

It’s worth watching it!

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• ••• ◊ •••

Hey, and we should not forget – after all – it’s all about learning:

About Tash

I like to travel, photograph, cook, bake and have interest in art, design and crafting. View all posts by Tash

Leave a Reply

