Crème de la crème – Kings of Pastry

I stayed up late yesterday, just to watch this television broadcast:

Kings of Pastry or the German title on arte.tv ‘Crème de la crème’.

Arte TV – Kings of Pastry

It’s a documentary where 16 chefs, during 3 days fight for the one chance to become a life time M.O.F. (Meilleurs Ouvriers de France) and the chance to shake the French Prime Ministers hand once in their life. The documentary has also it’s own page.

I love everything that has to do with food and in particular with pastry. I wasn’t aware that this M.O.F. existed and I like this concept! It values and supports continuously the quality and advancement of traditional craftsmen ship. During my stay in Paris this March I noticed with excitement that there are sooo many pastry shops and there is a big culture and tradition of enjoying sweets. There is a statement at the beginning of the documentary by Jacquy Pfeiffer which I think describes the French culinary culture really well

the idea in France is to eat the best possible on a daily basis but just in small quantities, so that your brain is happy every day‘ ‘…you don’t starve yourself and then eat like a pig…‘.

I sooo confirm this idea! A daily dose of happiness… I just have to work my way down to the smaller quantities🙂

Anyway, watching this it woke up again my idea for a professional pastry education and I decided to compile my collected links of pastry school in a post.

Here they are in the order I have found them:

I had another link to a pastry school in the UK, but I can’t find it anymore and my google searches haven’t been successful – anyone else here to help?

About Tash

I like to travel, photograph, cook, bake and have interest in art, design and crafting. View all posts by Tash

Leave a Reply

